PreBoard Examination

Many say that when you pass the pre board exam conducted by the review center, there’s a 90% chance that you’d pass the actual board exam. Yes. I’ll be taking the nursing licensure examination on the 18th and the 19th day of December. It will be the day that will test my knowledge on my 5 years in nursing and to prove that I deserve to get a nursing license.

For how many weeks, I’ve endured all the hardships of the review. I  studied well, listened carefully and stayed focus on the review. Though I had days were I don’t study, I keep in mind that I get to listen and absorb all the lessons our lecturers had to offer during the review proper. Its not an easy task considering a regular human attention span only last for 20mins (I even think I have less than 20mins of attention span) and our classes usually last for 4hrs a day.

Anyway, two weeks ago, after our critical thinking, the center conducted a mock board (pre-board examination). A mock board, for those who doesn’t know it, is a simulation of the actual board examination.  It test your preparedness for the real thing. It was conducted for 2 days just like the actual board exam. Nursing Practice 1 or NP1 was the first test. It focuses more on the basics of nursing which is the Fundamentals of Nursing. It was really anxiety inducing because we didn’t know what to expect. We (or I, on my part, was) were expecting something really hard thinking its 100% same with the real thing. I was expecting that I’d be having a hard time answering the first question. Fortunately, I was prepared unconsciously. I know the first answer. I didn’t know everything but I was able to finish the exam.

The second exam was Nursing Practice 2 or NP2 which focuses more on Community Health Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Maternity and Child Nursing and I think Leadership and Management. For me, its the hardest exam in the bunch. I’m not good with pedia, MCN and CHN. This is my weakest subject but I was still able to complete the test. The second day was for NP3, NP4 (both Medical-Surgical Nursing) and lastly the NP5, the subject where everybody can relate to, Psychiatric Nursing.

Today, we get to see the results. I may not be in the Top 10 but I can’t complain.

Here’s the breakdown:

NP 1 – 81

NP 2 – 77

NP 3 – 76

NP 4 – 75

 NP 5 – 85

Total Average: 79%

My rating is almost at the review center’s top 10. The Top 1 got 91% and the Top 10 (multiple entries) 81%. Maybe I got only 79% because my studying wasn’t enough or maybe I still lack knowledge and its my fault. I don’t blame anyone or God about my score. I’m even thankful as I was expecting something lower 79%.

This rating will serve as an inspiration that I will be better on the actual board exam and I’m aiming for the top 10. They say aim for top 1 but I know for myself that its almost impossible considering I’m not the smartest though it is still possible. I just pray to God that he will continue to give me (and my friends and all the other people taking the NLE) knowledge and confidence in answering the actual board exam so that we may be able to top it or if not, to pass and be registered nurses on Feb 2012.

“Aim for the BEST!”

“Do your best and God will do the rest!”

About krjarabelo

KR Jarabelo "Kyle" 22 years old Registered Nurse Medical Student at Davao Medical School Foundation, Inc. Frustrated Photographer Frustrated Blogger Sentimental Insensitive Loner Observant Imaginative Creative Overly shy Sometimes, overconfident
This entry was posted in General Information. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

