Happy 1st Birthday, Baby!

2 days ago (Dec. 1, 2012), we celebrated my favorite goddaughter’s birthday. Finally, she reached her first year of life in this world.

I remember back in summer when I was training to be a market researcher when I met the father of the baby. We went into training together, along with a few other people. At first, I thought this guy was gay because of his fashion sense — too tight skinny jeans, sweater and that K-pop hairstyle with all those highlights. The guy sat beside me in preparation for the orientation. Neither one of us was talking to each other. It felt awkward for me talking to him because I already had that impression.

One part of the orientation was to talk about ourselves and some facts that not many people know about us. Mine was the usual. I’m scared of cats and I was pursuing medicine. When it was his turn, we were all shocked because we didn’t expect he’d say that he has a girlfriend of 10 years and that they have a child. I was like, ‘Whoa! Seriously?!’

After that session, we usually have smoke breaks (for smokers) and bathroom breaks (for non-smokers) for 5 mins. I forgot my cigarettes and he offered me one. Who am I to decline? That’s when we started becoming friends. The next few days, we got endorsed to the floor. We had our practice and I was unconsciously becoming really competitive and ending up on top. We got endorsed to a specific wire and luckily, we were placed on the same wire, so every break time, we get to smoke together and talk about life.

A few days later, which makes it the second week of our friendship, this guy asked me to be one of the godfather of his daughter. I didn’t know what to say. At the back of my mind I was like, ‘We’ve only been friends for a few days and you’re trusting me with such a great responsibility to be the godfather of your child? You’re insane!’ But I still said yes. When the girlfriend knew about it, she was like, ‘Who’s this guy?! Why the hell would you want him to be the godfather of our daughter? Does he have a car? Does he share his girls with you?’ etc. etc. etc. The girlfriend thought of  me a bad influence to his boyfriend so i had to prove myself. We became really good friends. I even became the pseudo-photographer at the christening of the baby.

So that’s the story of how I became the godfather of Lexie. Its unusual but the first time I saw the kid, I fell in love. She’s just so cute. So cuddly. So pretty like her mom. And I’m glad that I’m one of her godfather and I will make sure that as a godfather, i’d be a good example for her when she grows up,

Alexie’s 1st Birthday

To Baby Lexie,

I hope you grow up to be a good, happy person. You always respect and love your parents. Obey them. Trust them because they are more than willing to return the favor. I pray that Chino and Trixie would shower you not with gifts but with love, and support and understanding.

Happy birthday baby! Ninong loves you!

About krjarabelo

KR Jarabelo "Kyle" 22 years old Registered Nurse Medical Student at Davao Medical School Foundation, Inc. Frustrated Photographer Frustrated Blogger Sentimental Insensitive Loner Observant Imaginative Creative Overly shy Sometimes, overconfident
This entry was posted in Family, Friends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

