1.21.13 MONDAY: BIttersweet

Monday. THE MOST HATED DAY OF THE WEEK. Simply because its the day after the weekend; the day after a lazy Sunday. Monday signifies the start of the week. Meaning, everyone’s back to work, back to school and back to stress. Its usually during Mondays that people wish, its Friday again because the day after that would be the weekend.

For us first year medical students, Monday is the hated day, not only because its the day after a lazy, stress-less Sunday and its the start of a super HELL week. It’s also because its the day of our least loved subject, HISTOLOGY. Plus it’s the day when our bags are suddenly super heavy because of the books we bring. We basically abhor Monday.

This Monday was a little different though. Sure, first thing in the morning, you’re dreading again coz’ its Monday. You have to wake up really early because you don’t want to get caught up with that Monday traffic rush. Its the start of the week remember? Everyone needs to be early. But today (Monday), its unusual. The city government declared no classes for grade school and high school both public and private institutions because of flooding. That means, lesser people waiting to commute. We were also hoping that classes will be cancelled for post grads. But that rarely happens.

Classes start at 8am, but everyone seems to be late. It was almost 8:30am before the classroom started filling up. We still had high hopes for cancelled classes because the teacher’s late. Again, it didn’t happen. The teacher came at around 9:15am and started lecturing about radiologic studies of the gastrointestinal system. It was interesting. The lecture consumed only about 45mins out of the 2hour class. We still had time for break. Then next class started. We were expecting a quiz, but luckily, it didn’t happen. Teacher loved us so much he couldn’t give us a quiz. He had to end early because he has a wife he need to get from the airport. His lecture took about an hour, so we had more time for lunch.

Then afternoon came. Everyone was kind of anxious because news were circulating that histology grades are out. Again, histology is the least loved subject in medicine. So you don’t expect good grades unless you know for a fact you’re a mutant. Right after Anatomy Laboratory, we all went to Histology lab for the session. Each student were called to see their grades. Spell A-N-X-I-O-U-S. Of course you want to pass histology. Its make or break this time.

I was on the verge of tears because I was expecting I’d flunk histology. Never passed histology since the first semester. I was thinking I’d fail because I had an idea that I failed all the quizzes our preceptor gave us. I was thinking of dropping the subject and re-take it the next school year. So when it was my turn to look at my grades, I had this really sad face and looked at my teacher before looking at the monitor. I showed my teacher that I’m really sad because I’d drop the subject. Then she asked me to look at my grades. Lo and behold. I was shocked like a deer caught in headlights!

I GOT AN 83 GRADE ON HISTOLOGY! I couldn’t contain my happiness that my smile reached ear to ear and had to punch the air and shout YES! I can’t believe it. I actually passed prelims HISTOLOGY! With flying colors. 2 more terms to survive! I cried happy tears! I wasn’t expecting that! It actually boosted my morale! It’s the highlight of my week.

But of course, my happiness did not last. While I’m enjoying my grade, a few of my friends didn’t. And it hurts to know that they couldn’t be happy with you. I wasn’t completely happy. It was bittersweet. All I can do is to tell them they still have a chance. And that we’d help each other. That I’m ready to be there for them. I’m not smart and all, but I guess friends supporting friends would give one confidence.

This Monday was different. It’s a rollercoaster ride. But it’s a ride you wouldn’t want to miss. There are ups and there are downs. But at the end of the day, tomorrow’s a TUESDAY. And its another day! Another challenge! Another day of hoping!

MONDAY… THE MOST HATED DAY OF THE WEEK!

P.S.

1.21.13
Happy Birthday to my Brothers!

About krjarabelo

KR Jarabelo "Kyle" 22 years old Registered Nurse Medical Student at Davao Medical School Foundation, Inc. Frustrated Photographer Frustrated Blogger Sentimental Insensitive Loner Observant Imaginative Creative Overly shy Sometimes, overconfident
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

