“Bad Company Corrupts Good Character”

1 Corinthians 15:33-34Do not be fooled. “Bad companions ruin good character.” Come back to your right sense and stop your sinful ways. I declare to your shame that some of you do not know God.

 

This was the verse shared during Sunday school right after the praise and worship today. 2 days ago, I was having a bad day because a friend was doing her best to annoy me and unfortunately, she did. I was having a bad day because I wasn’t feeling well due to lack of sleep from the previous night’s study session. The rest of the day was really off. My annoyance of her got the best of me and ruined my day. When I got home, I prayed, since I know that the best way to fight a bad day is to PRAY. I asked God for guidance as to how am I going to deal with this problem. I asked him for signs.

I guess today, I got what I asked for. He used my Sunday school mentor as an instrument to give me his message and to guide me. This mentor shared a story or at least a little bit of the story about someone (I forgot if it was a friend or a workmate). And this someone was to the point annoying. Humans are naturally selfish and we tend to look to ourselves higher than others. We judge people base on how they look, on how they act and many other ways. Then this mentor realized that we don’t have the rights to judge man for we are not God. Only God can judge man. So this mentor told us that no matter how annoying they are, how different they are, we should be thankful because God gave them to us as a challenge to become better. And here comes building character. Everyone of us is unique in their own ways. Some can do this, while some cannot. Everyone has their own perspective of life. So as human beings, all we have to do is to accept each and everyone’s differences. And instead of being annoyed, be thankful, because you get to have another perspective of life.

I bet you’re asking how is it connected to the verse. Well, I didn’t know too… At first. Then I realized, you don’t take the verse literally as to how it is written. Sometimes, you go beyond and read between the lines. The verse talks about one person’s character. If you don’t have any foundation or any knowledge as to who God is, there’s difficulty in building good character. Character is not defined by status, the amount of money, the number of friends, or cars, or whatever material things there is in this world. Character is how you embody the teaching of Christ and impart them to people and how you value your faith and relationship with the Lord. I realized then that if I keep setting my standards high, I’m not building good character. And that answered my problem. I know from then on how to deal with my friends who were annoying me for some reason at some point.

God really works in mysterious ways. He listens to every prayer. We just have to be patient. God will answer your prayer because he knows everything. He knows when the right time for it.

About krjarabelo

KR Jarabelo "Kyle" 22 years old Registered Nurse Medical Student at Davao Medical School Foundation, Inc. Frustrated Photographer Frustrated Blogger Sentimental Insensitive Loner Observant Imaginative Creative Overly shy Sometimes, overconfident
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

