Do Good Anyway

“People are often unreasonable and self centered.
Forgive them anyway.
If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives.
Be kind anyway.
If you are honest, people may cheat you.
Be honest anyway.
If you find happiness, people may be jealous.
Be happy anyway.
The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow.
Do good anyway.
Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough.
Give your best anyway.
For you see, in the end, it is between YOU and GOD.
IT WAS NEVER BETWEEN YOU AND THEM.”

Mother Teresa

 

I still couldn’t get over today’s realizations i had in church and in Sunday school. The one that gave impact to me was building character in God’s example. And the words of Mother Teresa was perfect example in building good character. 

My favorite lines would be, ” You do good things and people accuse you of ulterior motives, but do good anyway.” and “For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them.”

Before I changed faith, I couldn’t see myself doing such things. I’ve always has this negative  side of everything. I couldn’t see the good in things. Some people call me cynic because I only believe in one thing. MYSELF. And then some people (which became important people in my life) helped me see God’s ways. In some sense, I changed religion from Catholicism to Christianity and there, slowly I tried changing myself in ways basing on the teaching of the bible. Its a slow process and I’m still not perfect. You can call me a hypocrite. I don’t care. Because just like what my Sunday school teacher said, and what the bible said, (not the exact words but same thought) the church was made for hypocrites and not the righteous. Because the church will try to change these hypocrites to become righteous with the teachings of our Lord Jesus Christ. Something like that (correct me if I’m wrong).

I believe I have to start somewhere and doing good to others is my starting point. I don’t care what other people would think of me because of a sudden change of heart.  And slowly from there, I’d help myself (and possibly others) to become a better person.

 

About krjarabelo

KR Jarabelo "Kyle" 22 years old Registered Nurse Medical Student at Davao Medical School Foundation, Inc. Frustrated Photographer Frustrated Blogger Sentimental Insensitive Loner Observant Imaginative Creative Overly shy Sometimes, overconfident
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

